Call us for any questions

+01 123 456 789

Slane Credit Union has grown beyond recognition from the small group which operated from the old technical school with 200 or so members in 1968, to the current membership today.

Slane Credit Union was born out of a study group formed in in November 1967 to investigate the possibility of starting up a credit union in the area. The group was chaired by the late Michael O’Doherty of the Irish League of Credit Unions and advised by Michael Woods, the former manager of Navan Credit Union.

Slane Credit union was affiliated to the Irish league of credit Unions on 1st February 1968 and opened for public business on 16th February. It started with a tin box in the technical school, where it remained until the old courthouse at Chapel Street was purchased in 1971 for the pricely sum of £3,900 Pounds.

There were around 200 members in the first year and the 1st Credit Committee meeting was held on 20th March, 10 loans were approved, amounting to a sum of 335 pounds.

One of the reasons the CU succeeded in the early days was due to the fact that the Greenhills bed linen factory which employed around 500 people started a payroll deduction scheme.

In the early days, the opening hours were from 7.30 to 9pm on a Friday night and from 12 noon to 1pm on a Sunday (after mass).

The first board of directors was chaired by the late Michael Byrne, the first treasurer was the late Johnny Lyons and the first secretary was Mary Tallon. Other members of the board were Simon Cullen, Marty Johnston, Richard Tallon, Evelyn Byrne, James Duffy, Peter Hevey, Michael Smith, Geoffery Johnson, Gerard breen, Dermot Gough, Tom Gallagher, Peter Marron, Pearl Baxter and Vincent Murtagh while Eddie Colfer was co-opted a few months later.

By 1971, the credit union moved to its new premised at Chapel Street, but as the years went by it became more obvious that an even a bigger premises was needed. The board of directors of 1995 started to discuss the possibility of a new building and eventually acquired a site at Main Street Slane.

The purpose built office was officially opened on 2nd July 2000 by the then President of ILCU, Jim McMahon.

The 1,500 square foot building which was designed by architect Joseph Beggy, is cut stone with red brick window surrounds in keeping with many of the other buildings in the village. The front door is aligned with one of the four Dover Houses at the square and the attractive traditional clock above the front door is at the opposite end of the village from a similar clock on St Patrick’s Church of Ireland church.